So I started this painted furniture thing……..

Let me start by saying if you stumbled here the way that I so often stumble upon blogs I hope you’ll stay for awhile.  Am I a writer? Hardly!  No, I would call myself a rambler.  I write just like I carry on a conversation.  If you need a visual to go along with that just imagine a butterfly flitting from one flower to another.  You may even enjoy reading this because when you finish you may think “wow this girl made me realize what a great writer I am.”  If that’s the case then I say glad I could help, now go start a blog!  But finish reading mine first:)

So back to the painted furniture thing.  I’m not sure how old I was that I realized I had a fascination with painting things but I think it started in vacation bible school with a diorama I worked on for the entire week.  I wish I had a picture but that was way before Instagram.  I remember going to art class for the first time in 3rd grade and being very excited because I thought “oh boy more painting.”  Sadly the art teacher was surly to say the least and most of the art projects were college level.  No painting as I remember.  Fast forward to married adult life, apartment living, no painting, military housing, you could paint but only if you covered up all the paint when you moved.  Husband was not a fan of that.  I did get to paint the living room in one house (the same color eggshell) I felt like Picasso.  Then retirement came and we finally purchased our first home.  A funny thing happened, we were blessed to find a model home and yes you guessed it, did not need painting.  Sigh, my dream of spending hours choosing paint colors vanished.  Don’t misunderstand I LOVE my house but for a person who at one time wanted to be a house flipper this was slightly disappointing. 

So one day I was on Facebook and stumbled across a page called The Dumpster Diva.  She had all these pictures of “painted furniture” that intrigued me to say the least.  I went to a workshop and I was hooked.  She had me at chalk paint.  I came home and started to read everything I could about painted furniture.  I scoured Pinterest and Facebook.  I quickly found out there are a LOT of really good people painting beautiful furniture.  I cringed.  Could I really be so bold to think that I could start my own gig?  The answer obviously is yes or you wouldn’t be reading this.

I’m still in the land of learning as they say but I am learning fast!  I think as we get older we stop pursuing creative endeavors and sometimes by doing that we become stagnant.  I don’t know about you but I don’t like to feel that way.  So here I go and maybe you would like to stick around to see what happens next.  If you do, thank you and welcome. 

Lisa

The Purple Hydrangea

 

 

 

 

You can find me on Facebook @https://www.facebook.com/#!/ThePurpleHydrangea

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to So I started this painted furniture thing……..

  1. Heather says:

    Your story sounds much like mine but mine with photography! 😉 Can’t wait to see the beautiful work you’ll create!

  2. Joanne says:

    Great job! Love it!

  3. Kathryn says:

    I am right there with you. Because of your posts I discovered the dumpster diva – and will be taking my first class in August. I have been wanting to learn to refinish furniture since I was little. Next – how to recover chairs, etc.

  4. Becky says:

    I love what you wrote about beind a rambler. I am too!! I love the painted furniture, I wish I had time to learn. Your projects are fantastic!!

Leave a Reply

